Strawberry Shortcake

Hi guys, I’m in Phoenix right now, celebrating my friend’s 10th anniversary of her 25th birthday. My gosh, it’s 110 degrees Fahrenheit (44 Celsius) over here, and I feel like melting even in the evening! Definitely relaxing by the pool is a good choice. Milk however, since it’s so darn hot, is a bad choice.

Strawberry Shortcake: Despite milk being a bad choice, birthday cakes are ALWAYS a good choice. And a perennial crowd pleaser is the Strawberry Shortcake. Now, apparently as explained by my pastry chef friend, spongy strawberry shortcake (as taught by my mother, the chef), is the Japanese version of the cake. So… my entire childhood had been a lie, since Spongy Strawberry Shortcake is my favorite cake ever, and my mother would bake it for me for my birthday… Still confusing the fact, Southern USA, shortcake uses pie crust…

Anyhow, I decided to make a true shortcake by making the cake itself more biscuit like and using shortened dough, baked in high temperatures.

So, Strawberry Shortcake has been around since 1588, and June 14 is international Strawberry Shortcake day. The more you know!

Ingredients: 175g butter, small pieces
250g flour
1 tsp baking powder
50g white sugar
150ml milk
1 small squeeze lime juice
1 small egg, beaten
2 punnets strawberries, halved
1 tbsp strawberry preserve
140g whipped cream

  1. Heat the oven to 220 degrees celsius.
  2.  In a bowl, mix the butter, flour, baking powder and sugar until crumbly.
    11937020_10152958626941836_607123285_n
  3. Add in the milk and lime juice until evenly mixed.
  4. Pour into a cake pan and bake for 20 minutes, set aside to cool.
  5. Mix the strawberries and jam and set aside to macerate. Mix the whipped cream and set aside.
  6. Once cooled, decorate the cake by spreading the whipped cream and topping with strawberry mix.
  7. Serve!
    11935817_10152958623841836_1522096696_n
Leave a Reply

