Baked Tofu Thai Yellow Curry

Hi guys! Let me tell you, I am just pleased to have my spice grinder to make real curry. It’s been quite a busy week at the new hospital, with the new interns and students, as well as having a boss who was my former chief resident! Also, I’ve just came off a 1/3 marathon, which I was coerced to run (despite not having done any physical workout the whole time I was in the bush). But I am glad to have done it, being the kick in the butt I needed to get back to fitness.

Baked Tofu Thai Yellow Curry: What can I say about yellow curry? Well, it is one of the three colors of curry found in Thailand, the other being green, and red. The sweetness of the coconut milk cuts the spiciness of the chili. I used baked tofu because I wanted this to be a bit healthier after having a predominantly meat diet in the bush.

Ingredients: 375g extra firm tofu, I got it from the Chinese supermarket
2 tsp Extra virgin olive oil
2 tsp light soy sauce
1 red onion, diced
1 chili, diced
4 cloves garlic, diced
2 tsp turmeric, ground
2 tsp coriander seed, ground
1 tsp cumin, ground
1/4 cup water
400ml coconut milk
400ml beef stock
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 carrot, diced
20 snow peas
2 cups peas
1/2 cup sweet chili sauce
1/3 cup lemon juice

1. Freeze the tofu overnight. Thaw out during the day and cut into cubes. Ground up your spices.
IMG_0693
2. In a bowl mix the tofu with the olive oil and soy sauce. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius and bake the tofu for 20 minutes until browned.IMG_0694IMG_0700
3. In a large wok, fry up the onion, garlic, and chili in olive oil until softened.IMG_0695
4. Add in the spices and mix well. Add in the water and mix well until thickened.IMG_0696IMG_0697
5. Add in the coconut milk, beef stock, and 2 tsp of lemon juice. Simmer for 20 minutes, stirring as needed.
IMG_0698IMG_0699
6. Toss in the carrots, tofu, snow peas, peas and 1/4 cup lemon juice. Mix well.IMG_0701
7. In a measuring cup, mix the lemon juice and the sweet chili sauce.IMG_0702
8. Serve the curry over rice with the sauce drizzled on top!IMG_0703

Leave a Reply

